Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Brown Sugar Curry & Mustard Glazed Salmon

I won my husband over with this Salmon. Okay, not really…haha. He HATED any and all fish until I made this Salmon recipe for him about 7 years ago. Now, he requests it regularly-IT’S THAT GOOD! The combination of ingredients sound a bit strange, but its FABULOUS. I will always only cook this fish with a cast iron, or le creuset pan that has a lid. Other pans just don’t make it as good, but if you don’t have one of those pans, you can use a non-stick pan. There are three ways you can make this: With all the sauce in the pan, or, just the salmon that is coated in the sauce-you can also grill the salmon as well. My favorite method is letting the salmon soak in the sauce for about 20 minutes, and then dumping everything in the pan to all cook together while I have my rice cooking in my rice cooker (yes, I am not a very good rice maker-I cheat with the rice cooker :). My favorite rice with this is olive oil sautéed onions and toasted almonds lightly mixed into the rice once its cooked. I have also mixed this recipe up a bit, by adding pineapple slices (patted down with a paper towel to remove excess juice) or/and sprinkling pomegranate seeds over the top of the salmon when you serve it. The salmon is really amazing cooled slightly and served over a salad. I love pairing this entrée with a bottle of slightly sweet Moscato wine. My recent favorite Moscato that I found the other day, is a Red Moscato, or Moscato Rosa-it has a hint of underlying rose flavor-My husband and I were enchanted with it. An inexpensive bottle California Red Moscato wine is Beringer-it runs from $5-10. A bit more costly is the Red Electra California Red Moscato-it runs from $12-20.

This is my all time favorite salmon recipe, and I hope it makes its way up your list as well. Let me know what you think! Bon Apetit!

INGREDIENTS:

4-6 Fillets of salmon -Fresh Alaskan salmon is the best-but is also expensive. Fresh Atlantic is okay as well. Just don’t buy anything that is Frozen or Farm raised-it doesn’t taste or cook very well, and isn’t as healthy for you)

  • 1/3 c. mayonnaise (I use kraft)
  • 1/3 c. Brown Sugar
  • 2 T. Spicy Brown Mustard (I use either Gulden’s or Grey Poupon)
  • 2 T. Curry Powder
  • 1/2 t. salt (or to taste)

Mix all ingredients together in a large bowl. Add salmon fillets-making sure salmon is completely covered-and let sit for 20 minutes. I don’t remove the skin, but you may if you like. If you are using a Le Crueset pan or a cast iron skillet, turn the stove on medium heat for about 5 or so minutes so it is thoroughly heated. Lift the salmon pieces and put them one by one face first (not skin first) into the pan. At this point I always scoop all the sauce into the pan and let it cook with the salmon, but if you don’t want the sauce (I always put sauce over my salmon and on my rice) then just continue without the sauce. Let them sizzle and cook – covering with a lid-for about 5 minutes, then turn to the skin side and let cook covered for another 5 minutes.

Serve over rice, or on top of a green salad.

I usually use salmon fillets about this size

Pomegranate seeds are so pretty sprinkled over the salmon or into a salad that you serve with the salmon

With Pineapple discs

