Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

spinach salad with strawberries

After my husband and I were married, my sister-the artist-gave me a beautiful hand illustrated cookbook that she made -filled with all of my family’s favorite recipes. This salad & dressing recipe was one of the included recipes, and is a recipe that my middle sister used to make all the time. I remember that we served it often-at baby showers-wedding showers-birthday meals, parties-and many times-for dinner guests. It was always a favorite.

With spring around the corner-this is the perfect salad to get you excited! I love the fresh new twist that the Orange curry dressing brings to this classic spinach salad recipe. I hope you enjoy it! Bon Apetit!

 

Salad Ingredients:

  • 1 bag of fresh baby spinach
  • 1/2 c. dried sweetened cranberries
  • 1/2 c. walnuts or pecans
  • 1 1/2 cans mandarin oranges, drained
  • 1 onion-sliced and sautéed in olive oil
  • (optional ingredients for substitution or addition: fresh blueberries, sliced strawberries, apple chunks, feta cheese, pomegranate seeds, turkey bacon, pine nuts, purple onions (instead of the sautéed)

Put all ingredients in a big bowl-I build the salad with spinach leaves first-then pecans/walnuts, then onions, then mandarin oranges and cranberries on top

DRESSING:

In a blender or food processor, combine:

  • 1 cup Apple cider vinegar
  • 2 heaping tbsp. Orange Marmalade
  • 2 tsp. Curry Powder
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 2 tsp. dry mustard
  • 1 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 3/4 c. vegetable oil
  • 1/2 tsp. tabasco
  • 2 tsp. salt

*Makes enough for you to use in the future too, so put leftover dressing in a container and label.

