Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Overnight, a cold front came in and our weather changed drastically. Since it is such a cold day, I decided to make a hearty, but creamy, leek and potato soup for dinner. I mixed it up a bit this time, and added a few variations that change the flavors slightly-I added cilantro and a nice white wine, which can be optional if you prefer the common leek and potato flavor. I grew up with a bigger family, so this recipe makes enough for a few meals :). If you are only wanting a small amount, feel free to cut the recipe down.

When I was growing up (and sometimes when I was older and went home for a visit!), my dad would take the chef hat over, and make a fabulous creamy leek and potato soup for us-it has always been one of his specialties that we all request for him to make (along with his spaghetti and chili-so yummy!).  As I started making the soup for my own family, I changed a few things-added wine, cilantro, cayenne pepper, and switched the half and half for milk, and vegetable stock for water. I serve this soup with a nice crusty french bread (sourdough is my favorite) and a glass of Chardonnay is a nice companion as well. I just finished making a lovely big pot of this, and I’m about to go light the fire, warm the bread, and serve our dinner. I hope you enjoy this recipe-from my home to yours-and that you are staying nice and toasty indoors today.

Bon Apetit!

INGREDIENTS:

  • 10 medium size potatoes-peeled and cubed
  • 3 leeks-chopped
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • 1 carton vegetable/chicken stock/broth + an additional 2 cups vegetable/chicken stock or add 2 vegetable/chicken bouillons to 2 cups warm water
  • 2 vegetable/chicken bouillon cubes
  • 2 t. kosher salt
  • Just a tough of Cayenne Pepper
  • 1 t. freshly ground pepper
  • 3 whole bay leaves
  • 2 cups whole milk/half & half or 2 additional cups of Vegetable/chicken stock or substitute 2 vegetable/chicken bouillon cubes in 2 cups warm water
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or cream cheese
  • 1 stick of butter or margarine
  • 1/2-1 cup dry white wine (chardonnay or table wine is good)

Melt  butter/margarine in a large stock pot. Add chopped leeks and saute until soft (5-6 minutes). Chop potatoes and add them into the pot when the leeks are soft. Immediately add Vegetable/chicken stock, wine and all ingredients except for milk and sour cream/cream cheese (unless you are not using milk or sour cream-then just add more vegetable broth now). Let simmer on low-medium heat for about 30-40 minutes.

When potatoes are soft, add milk and sour cream/cream cheese. Stir in, and let simmer another 10 minutes. You can eat the soup with the chunks of potatoes, or you can use an immersion blender and blend till smooth. Serve with cilantro, croutons and sprinkle shredded cheese on top if desired.

Slice the leeks in half most of the way down the length and wash carefully through the layers

Dirt hides between the layers

I chop leeks about this size

Saute leeks in butter till soft

Add potatoes and cilantro

Next pour Vegetable/chicken broth in

Add wine

Sprinkle in spices and boillion cubes

When potatoes are soft, add milk/half & half, and sour cream/cream cheese while stirring

Enjoy!

