Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is a variation of my husband’s favorite chicken meal, that I make often on the weekends. Growing up, my family always had one big chicken dinner like this, once a week. Nothing compares to walking into  a house filled with the scent of bread baking in the oven, together with a big chicken meal beside it. You can use a big oven safe dish that has a lid, or you can get the big oven safe plastic baking bags. If I have guests coming for dinner, I double the recipe, and you can use the big turkey bags instead. Since the chicken meal is heavy, I like to pair a few salads with the meal. I like to cut up cucumbers, tomatoes, minced onion, and sometimes green or black olives, mixed with a drizzle of olive oil, few tablespoons of lemon juice, salt and pepper, and some fine herbs (either finely chopped, or dried). I also like a simple spring salad mix, with feta, toasted pine nuts, and dried cranberries, or fresh blueberries, and a light vinaigrette. A white wine that we recently discovered, that would pair nicely with this meal, is Pianello Soave. It has light, zippy citrus and floral notes, that are refreshing for a summer evening meal.
Let me know what you think when you make this meal, I love to hear variations that my readers have used! Bon Apetit!
Ingredients:
  • 1 whole chicken
  • 1 onion-chopped
  • 1 large shallot-chopped
  • 5-6 large potatoes-cut into bite size pieces
  • 5-6 small zuccini
  • 5 roma tomatoes
  • 3-4 cloves crushed garlic
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup white wine (chardonnay is good)
  • 3 T. Balsamic Vineger
  • 4-5 T olive oil-drizzled over chicken and veggies
  • 1 t. Garlic Powder
  • 1 t. Saffron
  • 2 T Kosher salt or to taste
  • 1 t. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 T oregano leaves (not ground)
  • 2 t. Margoram
  • 1 t. Chervil or parsely
  • 2 T Fine Herbs

Place chicken in breast side down first, and then layer veggies all around. add spices and all liquids and stir.

Bake on 350 for 1 hour-then turn chicken, cover and bake another 45 minutes-then remove lid for the last 15 minutes.

Serve over pasta, or rice

